Critical Thinking, Free Speech

A Serious Question – Who’s Worse? Trump Supporters or Trump Protestors

My fascination with American Politics has increased considerably over the last 10 years or so.  The Candidates from the Republican Party are more right wing, more ignorant and frankly, more insane every 4 year election cycle.  At the time, I thought Bush was pretty bad but when I think about it now, he’s got nothing on the new crop of Republicans.  McCain, going partially senile and demented, nominating Sarah Palin as his running mate who as far as I am concerned, is a pycho f*&king loon was worse.  The Romney/Paul ticket wasn’t a whole lot better.  This year, it would appear that the whole thing has slid completely off the rails.  I literally cannot believe what I am seeing on tv and watching on the internet.  However, I am not entirely convinced that Donald Trump is as ignorant and stupid as he appears.  I think that there is an element of showmanship and toadyism.  He appears to be pretty damn good at telling people what they want to hear.  Whether or not he actually believes it, I don’t know.

Anywho, that brings me to my question.  Who is worse – the people who are ignorant and stupid enough to follow Trump and vote for him? – Or the people who show up at his rallies to protest him and get in fights (regardless of whether or not they started them) with his supporters?  He’s got every right to be saying what he’s saying so why would they do that?  The first amendment to the constitution guarantees him that.  If you want to protest him, there’s a very easy way that doesn’t involve conflict.  Don’t vote for him.

Help me out here people.

Standard

3 thoughts on “A Serious Question – Who’s Worse? Trump Supporters or Trump Protestors

  1. I don’t get it, either, and I live here. I can’t stand Trump. That having been said, I’m just not going to vote for him. There’s my protest.

    My suspicion is that those who are protesting don’t feel they have a voice. Trump can do nothing if he’s not elected. I’ve often wondered when I watch senseless violence and vandalism on my tv how many of those jokers are registered to vote. When I watch some numbnut jumping up and down on a police cruiser and bashing in its windows I’m wondering what on earth good that does. Sure, it’s drawing attention, but it’s not good attention.

    I will, however, defend the right of those who peacefully protest, even if I question the efficacy of such a thing. They have just as much right to free speech as the Orange Marauder. And peaceful protests are protected by the U.S. Constitution.

    So, yeah, I don’t know who’s worse, either. I just watch the news and shake my head in disbelief.

    Like

    • Personally, I’m leaning towards the protestors being the worst of the 2 groups. I can understand why people gravitate towards The Donald. He doesn’t do the political correctness thing, which I actually find a little refreshing to be honest. If he doesn’t like someone, he doesn’t mince words. Of course a lot of his political incorrectness devolves into ad hominem and utterly childish, petty, stupidity, but I at least give him some credit for not pretending to like someone he doesn’t. As I said in the post, I’m not convinced that he actually believes half of the stuff he says, rather he just says it to get votes.
      The protestors however, I find contemptuous. I have no problem with people protesting anything, but to do it to deliberately disrupt someone that you don’t agree with and try to prevent their lawful right to free expression is reprehensible. I have absolutely zero respect for people like that.
      Man, you guys down there are in rough shape! How did the most powerful country on earth devolve into this circus act?

      Like

Leave a Reply

